Postnormal – shameless plug

Hello everyone!

Again, I must apologise for my recent lack of bloggage. We’ve had illness in the family and an ongoing fight with CAMHS (Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services – who aren’t actually that bothered about Child and Adolescent Mental Health, but that’s a post for another day) with which to contend, and I’ve been using my remaining spare time to write since my last effort. Even so, I’ve neglected my blog and will endeavour to rectify this over the coming months.

stress

I’d love to say that I’m going to mark my return with a scintillating, witty piece full of insight. If that does prove to be the case, it will be by accident because today, I’m here to do one thing, and one thing only: I’m going to promote my new book, POSTNORMAL.
It’s not really the done thing to admit that your intentions are purely selfish. But what’s the point in trying to deceive? Being an independent author isn’t easy, after all. Unless you’re already successful (and even if you are), you’ve got to do a lot of shouting to get people to listen and buy the books you’ve worked so hard to produce. I’ve always felt a little reluctant to brag about my SUBNORMAL series. Perhaps it’s my British reserve, or maybe it’s my natural disinclination to self-applause, but I’ve not been as vocal as I should’ve been. Would it have made a difference if I’d bombarded my followers with regular promo? I don’t know.

PN cover

Anyway, I’m digressing. Tomorrow, the third and final part of my SUBNORMAL series, Postnormal, will be available to buy. For a short time, it’ll be just 99p/99c. To mark the occasion, I’m giving away the original, Subnormal, for FREE, and I’m dropping the price of part 2, Supernormal, to 99p/99c. So all three books for less than the cost of a cup of coffee. I can’t, like Starbucks, Costa et al, promise to plant any trees or divert South American youths from cocaine gangs to coffee farming, but I can offer several hours of immersive, suspenseful, dystopian reading. Plus, as with my previous books, I’m donating a chunk of my royalties to charity.

Dealing-with-Discount-Mentality-sm-1100x400

Postnormal is, in my opinion, my best novel so far. Not that I’m saying my books are great, or anything… Actually, ignore that last sentence – I’m being modest again. <salesman mode>They are good. Check out the reviews if you don’t believe me. If you’re still unsure, have a look at these free samples. If dystopian fiction isn’t your thing, fair enough, but I’m confident that you’ll enjoy them. And if you disagree, let me know where I’m going wrong.</salesman mode>

salesman

Looking back through this post, I’m assailed by doubts. Have I gone too far in my transformation from self-deprecating, anxiety-riddled introvert to shameless self-promoter? Am I coming across as arrogant? Are people still reading at this stage? Are they bored of me and my verbal diarrhoea?

seal.png

Therefore, I’ll stop here, and I’ll end with more honesty. Why do I want my books to succeed? Obviously, I’d be delighted to be able to donate a large sum to charity. And I hope to raise awareness of the treatment of disabled people in Britain and offer a warning regarding the growing popularity of right-wing politics. However, my main reasons are selfish. I want a bigger house and car. I’m fed up of telling people they can’t claim for their roof to be repaired on their home insurance because the wind speed wasn’t over 48mph. Moreover, I want to stay at home and help my beleaguered wife look after my son.

If my pitiful sob story hasn’t put you off, head here between 20th & 24th May and snag the SUBNORMAL trilogy for a pittance.

new SN cover     new SPN cover    PN cover

Thanks for reading!

 

 

If you enjoyed my post, please consider subscribing to my mailing list to receive regular newsletters including updates on my writing. Click here.

2 thoughts on “Postnormal – shameless plug

  1. All I can say Stuart is that if your new novel is truly the best of the three,( and who would know better than you?), then I know for a fact I am going to enjoy Postnormal! Definitely need to be a movie (series)…Sell millions…your writing is superb!

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Carol! If it weren’t for praise and support like this, I’d have given up long ago. It means a lot to me ☺
      Speaking of superb writing, I’ve just purchased your Heart of the Staff Complete Series. It’ll take me a while, but I’m looking forward to working my way through it 👍

      Like

Leave a Reply

